Southern African countries collaborate on plans for climate research centre

Five countries in southern Africa have joined forces to launch a research centre that will work on combating climate change in the regionSouth AfricaAngolaBotswanaZambia and Namibia signed a declaration on Wednesday to base the initiative in the Namibian capital Windhoek.

The Southern African Science Service Centre for Climate Change and Adaptive Land Management (Sasscal) is intended to support cross-border research and land management.